Whiteboard Wednesday: Inspiring Others

Written by Remy

People have different definitions of leadership. I want to focus today around the theme of inspiring others. As the “Lone Nut” Tedx talk has shown us you cannot be a leader without followers. So how do you get your followers… you inspire them! Make them share your passion and energy.

I inspire others

I inspire others

The particular student in the picture is a bundle of energy. Ashwin is the incoming president for CBESA and can be found cheering at the top of his lungs and jumping into any situation with the most outgoing and friendly attitude. Part of his charm is being so welcoming. The first thing he will do is stick his hand out to shake yours. As a leader, this is an action helps to create an intimate connection with your followers.

I am passionate about the work I do

I am passionate about the work I do

The passion that people have is contiguous. Think about any famous speech you have heard, Martin Luther King, Obama! They all speak with a passion that makes you believe in their cause. They rally the troops together with their spirit. You just have to be so passionate in your work and then you will make others want to help.

I care

I care

Some leaders do this unknowingly by just caring for others and passing on their kindness. I remember an RA during my first year helping me when my door got vandalised. Her kindness and caring inspired me to want to be an RA and to help others when they were having a rough day. These little moments that we can take for granted like in the Lollypop Moment Tedx talk, and have a ripple effect with creating new leaders and followers.

I wear orange when a lot of people wear black

I wear orange when a lot of people wear black

And to the person who marches to their own beat… yes, you inspire people as well! You make me question what I am doing. You make me question the norms. This type of leader is what we need to be critical thinkers and to create change. Look at Thomas Edison, he thought a little different, questioned a little more, and kept on doing what he was doing because it made him happy and it was what he was passionate about it.

“if your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader”.

“if your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader”.

So what I want to leave you with is this quote “if your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader”. We all have the capacity to inspire others. Chances are you are already doing it. Keep up the good work and keep making those positive impacts.

Leave a Reply

