Introducing Heather

Hi there, and happy Friday!

My name is Heather and I’m going to be a regular contributor to The Leadership Office blog. I’m currently in my 4th year of a Zoology degree, and have been with the LEAD Peer Helper team for 5 semesters now. I decided to get involved with LEAD at the end of my first year because it seemed like a cool way to get engaged within the University community, and I wanted to try something new. I’ve been fascinated by different types of leadership for several years now, and LEAD gives me the opportunity to explore this, while also challenging me and helping me to develop many new skills. I love my time with the team because it gives me a chance to speak out and get creative.

This is me! The other LEADers wrote up some words that they thought describe me.

This is me! The other LEADers wrote up some words that they thought describe me.

A little more about me: some of my favourite things include playing outside, lattes, funk music, reading, and anything that glitters. For this last reason, and probably many others, my fellow LEADers like to jokingly call me a Princess, though they assure me that they mean it to be endearing. Personally, I’m not too worried about it; there’s nothing wrong with bringing a little sparkle with you wherever you go. I enjoy going out and finding adventures, whether that looks like going on a multi-day canoe trip, or just exploring downtown Guelph for the afternoon. I am madly passionate about learning in all its forms, though I especially like when you can find a learning opportunity in a completely unexpected situation. Posts will probably include lots of images from Pinterest, as it is my newest obsession.

I try to be a leader on campus in small, simple ways, like holding doors, offering smiles, and lending a hand when someone needs it.

'If you can be anything, be kind' Source: Pinterest

‘If you can be anything, be kind’ Source: Pinterest

If you could be any animal, which would it be and why?

I would definitely choose to be a tiger, for many reasons. First of all, big cats are great. Secondly, because they’re so versatile! They can stalk around the jungle, but also climb trees and swim. Lastly, tigers are mad fierce, and I like that.

What small act of kindness has impacted you?

It’s very simplistic, but the thing that comes to mind is smiling. Having a stranger offer a nice smile if I’m stressing about an assignment can change my mood almost instantly. It can absolutely be one of the best parts of my day.

Favorite leadership quote? 

This quote by Maya Angelou is really important to me, and I think that it really demonstrates the way that we make a powerful difference every day.

'I've learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel' -Maya Angelou   Source: Pinterest

‘I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel’ -Maya Angelou Source: Pinterest

What does leadership mean to you?

To me, a true leader is not a person who can be seen and heard above everyone else, but someone who stands alongside and helps others to be their best.

Heather, holding a sign that says 'A leader is... A supporter'

Heather, holding a sign that says ‘A leader is… A supporter’

Well, that’s it for me! Be sure to keep checking back  to see what we’re thinking about!

Leave a Reply

